Bunny Love

_DSC5425_1024

How does one write only a few words when you have an entire lifetime squeezed into 7 years? A few days ago, the love of my life, my darling boy – Onyx crossed the rainbow bridge into doggie heaven. Without a sound, without a fuss, my angel left this mortal plane. Letting him go was the hardest thing I have ever done. This considering that I am no stranger to loss.

There will no longer be dog hair on my clothes when I go for work, nor big brown eyes following my every move around the house. I will not be greeted at the door with a wagging tail nor wake up to the smell of dog breath. Perhaps the thing that I will miss the most will be the pitter-patter of his little paws.

He entered my life with too-big paws, bat-like ears and the sweetest little face. My fondest memory (and I have so many to share) is the first time I gave him a bath. Till date I’m quite convinced that my pookie had no idea that he could swim. If you’ve ever given a German Shepherd a bath, you’ll know that it takes nearly a century to get them completely wet, while working up a good lather on them completes your workout for the entire week and by the time you’re done, you smell like a wet dog and he resembles a porcupine.

The most gentle soul alive and like most big boys, he had only one vice- eating. It didn’t matter whether what he ate was vegetarian or non-vegetarian, cooked or uncooked, fruits or vegetables. If it came out of the kitchen, it was meant to be eaten; with us constantly reminding him, “ Wexy round is not a shape!” But did that stop him? Nah!

Every night, after dinner, he would go for a walk and every night there would be something new in the house. Sometimes a lost helmet, a plastic bottle or even a coconut. Everyday would be an adventure with him; whether we were stopping to smell the flowers, chase pigeons or identifying the array of noises and odors that came along with him. It was quite a ride, one that I didn’t want to end. But like we say, in the end it is the innocent and the pure hearted that are punished.

i carry your heart with me(i carry it in
my heart)i am never without it(anywhere
i go you go,my dear;and whatever is done
by only me is your doing,my darling)
i fear
no fate(for you are my fate,my sweet)i want
no world(for beautiful you are my world,my true)
and it’s you are whatever a moon has always meant
and whatever a sun will always sing is you
here is the deepest secret nobody knows
(here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud
and the sky of the sky of a tree called life;which grows
higher than soul can hope or mind can hide)
and this is the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart
i carry your heart(i carry it in my heart)
E.E. Cummings
2 thoughts on “Bunny Love

Leave a Reply

